The project

Every day the Danube washes 4 tonnes of plastics into the Black Sea. Some Danube countries have neither effective bottle recycling systems nor sound waste prevention strategies. Plastic bottles, plastic bags and microplastics are found along the banks and at the bottom of the riverbed. Microplastics is especially alarming. Like many serious types of pollution endangering the Danube, microplastics are not visible to the naked eye. Disturbingly, there are more plastic particles than fish larvae dispersed throughout the water.

In many places, swimming is inadvisable since the water is polluted to the point that it is hazardous to health. This has robbed people of the opportunity to experience the river in her full glory while the reputation of the Danube waterscape has suffered immeasurably.

In public discourses, these grievances and the sustainable conservation of the Danube as a natural habitat have not been given due attention, especially across national borders. A lack of information and educational opportunities is the reason for the dearth of motivation and skills for people to make initiatives for positive changes in their behaviour and to work towards social and political transformation.

What’s more is the lack of water analyses of every section of the Danube to determine the precise degree of pollution. Added to this is the scarcity of transfer of scientific findings to the society at large.

Project activities

This is where our cleandanube project comes in. In spring 2022, Andreas Fath, Professor of Chemistry at Furtwangen University of Applied Sciences, is set to swim the entire length of the Danube – from the Black Forest to the Black Sea. He will be in the water nearly every day for 2 months and is expected to garner media attention at every stretch of the river. The association for wildlife protection (AWP) is planning the journey, aiding Andreas Fath in coordination efforts and designing the various project modules to accompany his odyssey from the river’s source to its estuary. Swimming the entire stretch of the Danube is the uniqueness of our project while attracting media attention to highlight the issues of cleandanube is the aim.

AWP will accompany him on his two-month tour with a mobile knowledge workshop in order to bring visibility to and make tangible the plight of the Danube at various stations. Modularized training units will booster the competence of young people between ages 14 and 25 along the project route.

In the research part of the project, we will analyse water samples daily to put together a comprehensive overview of the degree of pollution impacting the Danube. A documentary accompanying Andreas Fath’s journey will provide additional coverage, as well as to ensure the findings continue to reverberate long after the project’s completion. 

With numerous partner organisations, a variety of activities such as clean-ups, swim-alongs and paddling, receptions, lectures and information events as well as exhibitions are planned along the project route. Our partners encompass the widest spectrum of organisations – from large, well-known environmental protection agencies to medium-sized and small local NGOs, universities, educational institutions, schools, municipalities and cities, as well as supra-regional networks and public institutions.

The measures taken as a whole is intended to reach beyond the mainstream and make scientific knowledge appreciable to the population at large living in the Danube region, so as to inspire them to contribute to the protection of their environment.

The transnational project will contribute to water conservation through interlinked measures. The aim is to reduce water pollution, avoid plastic waste, recognise the dangers of microplastics and appreciate the Danube as an invaluable natural habitat.

Andreas Fath

Fath is a professor of chemistry at Furtwangen University. He has published numerous articles based on his findings on microplastics in scientific journals and textbooks. Through his athletic performance and research on water conservation, he has stirred up intense interest as the “swimming professor”. 

AWP

AWP, founded in 2011, is a non-profit association based in Freiburg im Breisgau. Since 2017, we have been successfully initiating environmental educational projects in the Danube region and have built up a comprehensive and strong network with local NGOs within the framework of their activities. In 2018 and 2019, two of our international environmental educational projects along the Danube were successfully implemented under the leadership of Mario Kümmel.

Furtwangen University

Furtwanger University is a co-organiser of the project and provides organizational support with a mobile laboratory, public relations efforts and doctoral students.

Das Projekt

4 Tonnen Plastik schwemmt die Donau jeden Tag in das Schwarze Meer. Einige Donaustaaten haben weder funktionierende Pfandsysteme noch wirksame Müllvermeidungsstrategien. Plastikflaschen, Plastiktüten und anderer Makro-Plastikmüll finden sich im Uferbereich ebenso wie am Grund des Flussbettes. Ein gravierendes Problem ist Mikroplastik. Dieses ist, wie viele ernsthafte Verschmutzungsarten des Donauwassers, kaum sichtbar. Mittlerweile befinden sich mehr Plastikteilchen als Fischlarven im Wasser.

An zahlreichen Stellen ist es gesundheitsgefährdend, in der Donau zu schwimmen, da das Wasser verunreinigt ist. Dadurch verliert der Mensch die Möglichkeit, die Flusslandschaft in ihrer Ganzheit zu erleben. Für die Wasserwelt Donau fehlt es auch deshalb an ausreichend gesellschaftlicher Wertschätzung.

Im öffentlichen Diskurs finden diese Missstände und der nachhaltige Erhalt des Naturraums Donau insbesondere nationenübergreifend nur unzureichend Beachtung. Fehlende Informations- und Bildungsangebote führen bei den Menschen zu mangelnder Motivation und Handlungskompetenz, um positive Änderungen im eigenen Verhalten anzuschieben und auf gesellschaftliche und politische Veränderungen hinzuwirken.

Es fehlen zudem Wasseranalysen, um den Verschmutzungsgrad der Donau an allen Abschnitten aktuell zu beurteilen, ebenso bedarf es der wirksamen Vermittlung der wissenschaftlichen Ergebnisse an die Öffentlichkeit.

Die Projektmaßnahmen

Hier setzt unser Projekt „cleandanube“ an. Im Frühling 2022 durschwimmt Andreas Fath, Professor für Chemie, die gesamte Donau vom Schwarzwald bis zum Schwarzen Meer. Die association for wildlife protection (AWP) plant gut 2.700km lange Tour, unterstützt Andreas Fath organisatorisch und gestaltet die begleitenden Projektteile auf seiner Reise. Die Leistung des Durchschwimmens der Donau von der Quelle bis zur Mündung ist das Alleinstellungsmerkmal unseres Projektes und erzeugt mediale Aufmerksamkeit, die wir dazu nutzen, das Anliegen von „cleandanube“ zu platzieren.

Die AWP begleitet den Professor auf seiner zweimonatigen Tour mit einer fahrenden Wissenswerkstatt, welche die Verschmutzung der Donau durch Makro- und Mikroplastik an verschiedenen Mitmach-Stationen erfahr- und sichtbar macht. Modularisierte Bildungseinheiten, die im Workshopformat entlang der Projektroute angeboten werden, erhöhen darüber hinaus bei jungen Menschen zwischen 14 und 25 Jahren die Kompetenz für umweltbewusstes Handeln.

Im Forschungsteil des Projektes entnehmen wir täglich Wasserproben, die nach ihrer Analyse einen umfassenden Überblick über den Verschmutzungsgrad der gesamten Donau liefern. Ein Film, der Andreas Fath auf seiner Reise folgt, lässt die Ergebnisse über das Ende des Projektes hinauswirken und sorgt für zusätzliche Reichweite.

Mit zahlreichen Partnerorganisationen sind vielfältige Aktivitäten wie Cleanups, Mitschwimm- und Paddelaktionen, Empfänge, Vorträge und Informationsveranstaltungen sowie Ausstellungen entlang der Projektroute geplant. Zu unseren Partnerorganisationen zählen neben den Büros großer und bekannter Umweltschutzorganisationen auch mittlere und kleine, lokale NGOs, Universitäten, Bildungseinrichtungen, Schulen, Gemeinden und Städte sowie überregional agierende Netzwerke und öffentliche Einrichtungen.

Alle Aktivitäten gemeinsam erzeugen Kampagnenqualität jenseits des Mainstreams, machen wissenschaftliche Erkenntnisse verständlich, erreichen eine hohe Anzahl an Bewohner*innen des Donauraums und begeistern sie für den Schutz ihrer Umwelt.

Durch ineinandergreifende Maßnahmen leistet das transnationale Projekt einen Beitrag zum Gewässerschutz. Im Fokus steht die Verringerung der Wasserverschmutzung, die Vermeidung von Plastikmüll, das Verständnis von Mikroplastik sowie die Wertschätzung des Naturraums Donau in der Bevölkerung.

Andreas Fath

Andreas Fath ist Professor für Chemie an der Hochschule Furtwangen. Im Kontext seiner Forschung zu Mikroplastik veröffentlicht er zahlreiche Artikel in Fachzeitschriften und Lehrbüchern. Durch seine sportliche Leistung und praxisnahe Wissensvermittlung hat er als „Schwimmender Professor“ bereits in anderen Projekten Begeisterung für das Thema Gewässerschutz geweckt.

Die AWP

Die AWP, gegründet 2011, ist ein gemeinnütziger Verein mit Sitz in Freiburg im Breisgau. Seit 2014 initiieren wir Naturschutzprojekte im Donauraum und haben im Rahmen ihrer Umsetzung ein belastbares Netzwerk aus NGOs und Einrichtungen vor Ort aufgebaut. In den Jahren 2018 und 2019 wurden unter der Leitung von Mario Kümmel zwei internationale Umweltbildungsprojekte entlang der Donau erfolgreich durchgeführt.

Die Hochschule Furtwangen

Die Hochschule Furtwangen ist Mitveranstalterin des Projektes und unterstützt es organisatorisch, mit einem mobilen Labor, bei der Öffentlichkeitsarbeit und mit Doktoranden.